Bill and Barbara Chrisman Honored at 2014 BBIA Convention


The Billiard and Bowling Institute of America held its 72nd annual convention at Loews Ventana Canyon in Tucson, Ariz., April 13-15.
The highlight of the gathering was the presentation of the BBIA Industry Service Award to Barbara and Bill Chrisman, co-owners of Storm Products Inc. BBIA President Joleen Lawson made the presentation. More than 70 BBIA members and guests attended the reception and dinner honoring the Chrismans for their dedication and contributions to the bowling industry and community.
During the convention, BBIA elected new officers for the 2014-15 fiscal year:
• Joleen Lawson, Lomar Bowing Supply, President.
• David Hickman, Premier Bowling Supply, Vice President.
• Jeff Mraz, Ace Mitchell Bowlers Mart, Secretary/Treasurer. Mraz also will serve as the 2015 convention chairperson.
Directors-at -Large are Corey Dykstra, Brunswick Bowling and Billiards; Skip Nemecek, Tweeten Fiber Company; and Hank Boomershine, Storm Products Inc. BBIA membership elected Mike Judy, Ebonite International Inc., to a three-year term as a Director-at-Large.
The 2014 convention began with the annual BBIA golf event. Thirty-seven players participated in the Scramble-type competition, organized by Golf Chair Tony Mendiola. The event was won by Lori and Jeff Mraz, paired with Barbara and Bill Chrisman.
BBIA distributors awarded the 2014 Top Gun Award, for the best company presentation to their customers, to the team from Turbo Bowling Accessories and Lori Mraz, President of the company.
Additionally, seven industry leaders addressed BBIA members about their respective organizations: Cathy DeSocio, BPAA; Frank DeSocio, STE; Chad Murphy, USBC; Kevin Dornberger, WBA; Tom Clark, PBA; Keith Hamilton, IBM/HF and Russ Wilson, IBPSIA.